Sometimes it’s hard to feel part of the whole, especially when everything in your life seems to be tearing you apart. When you are seemingly under attack from enemies and friends alike and you appear to be completely alone. But this is just an illusion. Perhaps a very convincing one, but an illusion all the same. And it can be hard not to fall for it and lash out. It can be hard not to take things personally and try and fight it

But if you do nothing, and let your thinking subside… because that’s where the separation lies, not in the real world… then you will rise again to the surface and you will feel whole again. Now I’m not one for giving any practical advice about any of this. C’mon, the last sentence even says ‘do nothing’… but I will say that when this happened to me very recently, I was aided by saying the following sentence over and over again: “I love you”.

I was saying it to myself, to the Universe, to the people who I felt had ‘wronged’ me, to everyone in fact. And I guess it doesn’t really matter whether or not it helped speed up things or not, the fact that it is a loving thing to say somehow made it all OK anyway, even in the midst of despair.

So I wanted to share this story that a lovely friend of mine, Rachel Norwood sent me:

“One night I dreamed a dream. As I was walking along the beach with my Lord. Across the dark sky flashed scenes from my life. For each scene, I noticed two sets of footprints in the sand, One belonging to me and one to my Lord. After the last scene of my life flashed before me, I looked back at the footprints in the sand. I noticed that at many times along the path of my life, especially at the very lowest and saddest times, there was only one set of footprints. This really troubled me, so I asked the Lord about it. ”Lord, you said once I decided to follow you, You’d walk with me all the way. But I noticed that during the saddest and most troublesome times of my life, there was only one set of footprints. I don’t understand why, when I needed You the most, You would leave me.” He whispered, “My precious child, I love you and will never leave you Never, ever, during your trials and testings. When you saw only one set of footprints, It was then that I carried you.”
Click on the link to get to Author Damian Smyth’s new book.  There is a Kindle version as well.
Image
